RUSNANOPRIZE 2014 Award Committee includes prominent members of the research and business communities

(Nanowerk News) The composition of the Prize Committee for the International RUSNANOPRIZE 2014, presented annually for outstanding advancements in the field of nanotechnology, has just been confirmed. This year, the Committee will determine the authors of the most interesting technological development in the area of optics, electronics and photonics. The prize will also be awarded to the first company to incorporate the development into mass production.

In 2014, the Prize Committee includes distinguished researchers, as well as members of the innovative business community who have achieved universally acknowledged results in areas related to optics, electronics and photonics from Russia, China, USA, France, Switzerland, South Korea and Japan. One of the members of the Prize Committee is the President of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) Bai Chunli. Professor Bai also serves as the President of University of Chinese Academy of Sciences (UCAS), the President of the Academic Divisions of CAS and the President of the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS). Research interests of Professor Bai Chunli also include such fields as the structure and properties of polymer catalysts, X-ray crystallography of organic compounds, molecular mechanics and EXAFS research on electro-conducting polymers, scanning tunneling microscopy and molecular nanotechnology. Professor Bai Chunli is the author of numerous scientific publications and the recipient of more than twenty prestigious awards for his many academic achievements. He also serves as Chief Scientist for the National Steering Committee for Nanoscience and Technology and was the Founding Director of the Chin? National Center for Nanoscience and Technology.

The Prize Committee also features Vice Chairman of Honeywell, Andreas Kramvis. Mr. Kramvis previously served as the President and Chief Executive Officer of Honeywell Performance Materials and Technologies, the global leader in process technology for the oil and gas industries. Intimately familiar with key markets and world economy, Andreas has managed companies with global scope across a wide range of different industries. He is the author of a book titled “Transforming the Corporation: Running a Business in the 21st Century,” which demonstrates how to systematically transform a business for high performance. Andreas is a graduate of Cambridge University, where he studied electronic engineering.

Aside from Bai Chunli and Andreas Kramvis, the RUSNANOPRIZE 2014 Award Committee includes 14 other prominent representatives of business and science:
  • Director of the RAS Photochemistry Center, Mikhail Alfimov,
  • Director of the SB RAS Institute of Laser Physics, Sergei Bagaev,
  • General Manager of the Analog, Microelectromechanical and Sensor Systems Group, Executive Vice President at STMicroelectronics, Benedetto Vigna,
  • Director of the Arizona Institute for Nanoelectronics, Stephen Goodnik,
  • Scientific Director of Thales Research & Technology, Emmanuel Desurvire,
  • Professor at Brown University, Alexander Zaslavsky,
  • General Manager of the Technology Research Laboratory, Managing Executive Officer in Charge of Research & Development at Shimadzu Corporation, Yoshikazu Yoshida,
  • Chief Executive Officer of the «NIIME i Mikron» OJSC, Gennady Krasnikov,
  • Professor of Electrical Engineering at Seoul National University, Independent Director of Samsung Electronics, Byeong-Gi Lee,
  • Adviser to CEO on Science and Technology at LOMO OJSC, Vladimir Nikiforov,
  • Director of the RAS Physical-Technological Institute, Alexander Orlikovsky,
  • Deputy CEO for R&D at Shvabe OJSC, Nikolai Rakovich,
  • President of the Moscow State Technical University of Radio-engineering, Electronics and Automation, Alexander Sigov,
  • Chairman of the Executive Board at RUSNANO, Anatoly Chubais.
  • In 2014, the RUSNANOPRIZE will be awarded for the sixth time. The theme of this year’s competition, optics and electronics, are fields that stand out for their high demand for research and development in the area of nanotechnology, as well as for their strategic importance to the innovative development of numerous sectors of the global industry. The brisk pace of progress in electronics, optics and photonics is largely responsible for the overall development vector of contemporary humanity across a wide range of spheres: from communications equipment and information technologies to medical diagnostics and environmentally-friendly solutions for urban lighting.
    Eligible to compete for the prize are technological advancements that have been implemented into mass production with an annual turnover of not less than USD 10 million. The deadline for submission of applications is at 31 July 2014. Following initial assessment by the Prize Expert Group, 10% of the most impressive applications will be passed for consideration to the RUSNANOPRIZE 2014 International Prize Committee, with the names of the winners announced at the official awarding ceremony, traditionally held within the frames of the “Open Innovations” Moscow International Forum for Innovative Development. Monetary value of the Prize amounts to 3 million rubles.
    For more detailed information on the prize, nominating terms and conditions, laureates from past years, and to download the nomination form that must be completed to advance a candidate for prize consideration, please visit
    The RUSNANOPRIZE award was founded in 2009 by the Russian Corporation of Nanotechnologies, one of the largest nanotechnology industry investment companies in the world. The prize is awarded to both Russian and foreign citizens. Four of the eight laureates who had been awarded with the Prize in the last five years are foreign nationals.
    RUSNANOPRIZE is intended to promote:
  • Integrating demands of business and interests of the scientific community
  • Wide public recognition of the development and practical applications of nanotechnology
  • The development of experimental and applied scientific research in the field of nanotechnology, as well as their commercialization
  • International collaboration in the field of nanotechnology
  • Public acknowledgement of the role of individual scientists, researchers and groups that have brought scientific research to life.
  • Source: RUSNANOPRIZE Committee
    Subscribe to a free copy of one of our daily
    Nanowerk Newsletter Email Digests
    with a compilation of all of the day's news.
    These articles might interest you as well: