Oxford Instruments Asylum Research Announces AFM Image Contest Winners

(Nanowerk News) Oxford Instruments Asylum Research is pleased to announce the winners of its AFM Image Contest. Congratulations to the Grand Prize winners Jessica Bickel and Kathy Aidala of Mount Holyoke College for their image submission of magnetic force microscopy of cobalt nanoribbons.
MFM on Cobalt Nanoribbons
Magnetic Force Microscopy (MFM) phase data overlaid on topography of cobalt nanoribbons composed of half-circles with 800 nm radius connected by straight sections of length 800 nm (top) and 1600 nm (bottom). The sample is in the "onion" state with head-to-head (blue) and tail-to-tail (red) domain walls that have been created by the application and removal of a uniaxial in-plane magnetic field using the Variable Field Module (VFM) on a MFP-3D AFM. Scan size 10 µm x 20 µm. (Image courtesy of Jessica Bickel and Kathy Aidala, Mount Holyoke College)
All winning images can be viewed at http://www.asylumresearch.com/Gallery/Image-Contest-Winners/ImageContest.shtml
“It was very difficult picking a winner,” said Roger Proksch, President of Asylum Research. “We were overwhelmed with outstanding submissions. The winning contributions demonstrated great science, exceptional AFM technique, and that special “wow factor.” We are very proud of the ground-breaking research that continually comes from Asylum customers and would like to congratulate all the winners.”
Luke Rochford, University of Warwick; Ahmad Eshghinejad and Jiangyu Li, University of Washington; Feng Bi and Giriraj Jnawali, Levy Group, University of Pittsburgh; Andrew Stack, Oak Ridge National Laboratory and Jacquelyn Bracco, Wright State University.
Tamás Bozó, Semmelweis University, Hungary; Rhiannon Creasey, Yoshitaka Shingaya, and Tomonobu Nakayama, National Institute for Materials Science, Tsukuba, Japan; Amin Vakhshouri, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan; Fengyuan Zhang, South China Normal University; Wojciech Chrznanowski and Sally Kim, University of Sydney, Australia; Dayong Chen, University of Massachusetts-Amherst; Vijay Raghunathan, Paul Russell, Christopher Murphy, University of California Davis; Itamar Balla, Soo Kim and Professor Mark Hersam, Northwestern University; Suhas Somnath, Hoe Joon Kim, Huan Hu, William P. King, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.
Source: Asylum Research (press release)
Subscribe to a free copy of one of our daily
Nanowerk Newsletter Email Digests
with a compilation of all of the day's news.
These articles might interest you as well: