Posted: February 24, 2010

New Chairman of Supervisory Board at Carl Zeiss AG

(Nanowerk News) With immediate effect, the Carl Zeiss AG Supervisory Board has elected Dr. Theo Spettmann as the new Chairman of the Supervisory Board. “Carl Zeiss is looking forward to its cooperation with Dr. Spettmann,” said Dr. Dieter Kurz, President and CEO of Carl Zeiss AG. “With him, Carl Zeiss is gaining a Member of the Supervisory Board who combines a high sense of responsibility with economic expertise.”
Dr. Theo Spettmann studied business administration and was awarded the title of Dr. rer. pol. by the University of Mannheim. He held management positions at Südzucker AG from 1979 onwards and was a member of the Management Board from 1988 and its Chairman from 1995 to 2009.
Spettmann is also Chairman of the Shareholder Council of the Carl Zeiss Foundation, Heidenheim and Jena, which is the sole owner of Carl Zeiss AG. Spettmann succeeds Dr. h.c. Eggert Voscherau who held these offices from October 2008 and who stepped down for personal reasons on 15 February 2010. “On behalf of the Executive Board I would like to thank Dr. Voscherau for his commitment and for the excellent work he has performed for the benefit of the company and its employees. He has earned the great esteem and appreciation of the Supervisory Board, the Executive Board and the workforce,” Kurz emphasized.
Source: Carl Zeiss (press release)
Subscribe to a free copy of one of our daily
Nanowerk Newsletter Email Digests
with a compilation of all of the day's news.
These articles might interest you as well: