NT-MDT announces the winners of the 2011 ProIMAGE contest

(Nanowerk News) The ProIMAGE contest is an annual competition held by NT-MDT. Each year contestants are invited to submit images acquired by AFM probes produced from NT-MDT. Participants from around the world submitted their images the last quarter of 2011. More than 130 entries were submitted and are now available for viewing at http://www.ntmdt.com. NT-MDT received many scientific and aesthetically interesting AFM/SPM images from various fields of study including polymers, cells, graphene, semiconductors and organic molecules. At the beginning of 2012, a panel of judges selected the winners for the 2011contest. Three finalist were selected for 1st prize $3000 USD, 2nd prize $2000 and 3rd prize of $1000 USD.
AFM image
Denise Erb's Winning Entry Titled Growth
The first place prize winner is Mrs. Denise Erb with her entry titled "Growth". Denise is a Ph.D. student in the research group at DESY ("German Electron Synchrotron") in Hamburg, Germany. The group pursues a bottom-up approach for effective and large-scale nanopatterning of metallic films. They try to overcome the limitations of top-down lithographical methods, which are restricted regarding the minimum size of the fabricated nanostructures. Denise and her colleagues combine the x-ray scattering methods GISAXS (grazing incidence small angle x-ray scattering) and NRS (nuclear resonant scattering) to follow the structural and magnetic evolvement of growing iron nanostructures in-situ during sputter deposition.
Second prize goes to Dr. Martyna Grydlik for her entry titled "Nano-Turtle". Dr. Grydlik obtained her PhD degree last year in Linz, Austria. She investigates mainly SiGe heterostructures, especially quantum dots obtained during heteroepitaxial growth, with electronic properties similar to those of atoms. Martyna developed the process of growing ordered SiGe dots and examined their structural properties by means of Atomic Force Microscopy, Scanning Electron Microscopy and Transmission Electron Microscopy as well as optical ones by Photoluminescence measurements.
The third place price goes to Dr. Ronald Tararam for his entry titled "Fire". Dr. Tararam works at Sao Paulo State University at the Multidisciplinary Center for Development of Ceramic Materials (MCDCM). Ronald's research interests involve the use of AFM techniques for electrical characterization of materials and devices.
About NT-MDT
NT-MDT is a leading developer and manufacturer of Atomic Force Microscopes, Scanning Probe Microscopes and instrumentation used in the research and development of various fields of study related to nanotechnology. The company has provided solutions to scientist and engineers for more than 25 years. More information about the company can be found at http://www.ntmdt.com
Source: NT-MDT
Subscribe to a free copy of one of our daily
Nanowerk Newsletter Email Digests
with a compilation of all of the day's news.
These articles might interest you as well: