The Final Winners of the ProIMAGE Contest 2011

(Nanowerk News) ProIMAGE Contest, held by NT-MDT in 2011, has been successfully completed. NT-MDT congratulates Ph.D. student Denise Erb; her scan «Growth» became the winner of the Contest!
The competition of AFM-images obtained with NT-MDT probes ProIMAGE Contest 2011 is over! The participants from all over the world submitted their images. NT-MDT collected a great scan-gallery of 134 new pictures. NT-MDT received amazing, funny, scientific and aesthetic images.
The company also announced three best pictures of the year elected by the jury.
The 1st place is Denise Erb and her scan Growth"

Mrs. Denise Erb is a Ph.D. student in the research group at DESY ("German Electron Synchrotron") in Hamburg, Germany. The group pursues a bottom-up approach for effective and large-scale nanopatterning of metallic films. They try to overcome the limitations of top-down lithographical methods, which are restricted regarding the minimum size of the fabricated nanostructures. Denise and her colleagues combine the x-ray scattering methods GISAXS (grazing incidence small angle x-ray scattering) and NRS (nuclear resonant scattering) to follow the structural and magnetic evolvement of growing iron nanostructures in-situ during sputter deposition.

The 2nd place - Dr. Martyna Grydlik and her image “Nano-turtle”

Dr. Martyna Grydlik obtained her PhD degree last year in Linz, Austria. She investigates mainly SiGe heterostructures, especially quantum dots obtained during heteroepitaxial growth, with electronic properties similar to those of atoms. Martyna developed the process of growing ordered SiGe dots and examined their structural properties by means of Atomic Force Microscopy, Scanning Electron Microscopy and Transmission Electron Microscopy as well as optical ones by Photoluminescence measurements.

The 3rd place - Dr. Ronald Tararam and his image “Fire”
Dr. Ronald Tararam works at the Sao Paulo State University at the Multidisciplinary Center for Development of Ceramic Materials (MCDCM). Ronald's research interests involve the use of SPM techniques for electrical characterization of materials and devices.
NT-MDT congratulates the winners! They will be awarded by Diplomas and by certificates of 3000 USD for the 1st place, 2000 USD for the 2nd place, 1000 USD for the 3rd place.
NT-MDT thanks all the participants for the excellent AFM-images and wishes everyone further brilliant results!
Source: NT-MDT (press release)
Subscribe to a free copy of one of our daily
Nanowerk Newsletter Email Digests
with a compilation of all of the day's news.
These articles might interest you as well: