Posted: May 1, 2010

Registration opens for Bristol Nanoscience Symposium 2010

(Nanowerk News) Registration opens today (May 1) for the Bristol Nanoscience Symposium 2010, a two-day event that will bring together leading figures from the international scientific community at one of the finest nanoscience facilities in the world.
The Symposium, the third in a series hosted by the University of Bristol, takes place between 20 and 21 September at the Centre for Nanoscience and Quantum Information and will focus on translation of fundamental science into technology.
Presentations from speakers will highlight the latest research in all areas of nanoscience, including biology and medicine, electronics and photonics, patterning and nanofabrication, quantum phenomena, sensing and actuating, material synthesis and self-assembly, and properties and characterisation procedures for nanomaterials.
The event will also celebrate the official opening of the £11 million purpose-built centre which houses a series of laboratories in which vibration and acoustic noise levels are among the lowest ever achieved.
Innovative research already underway at the Centre includes efforts to create a new and ‘greener’ way of producing electricity from material made of diamonds, and research into the surface properties of cancerous cells which could have significant implications for those engaged in the fight against cancer.
Eminent scholars attending the Symposium include special guest Professor Heinrich Rohrer, Nobel Laureate and founding pioneer of nanotechnology.
Other speakers include the University’s Professor of Molecular Cell Biology George Banting, whose current research interests centre on factors involved in the organisation of membrane microdomains; Professor Ian Manners, who specialises in inorganic, macromolecular, and materials chemistry; and Professor Stephen Mann FRS, head of the centre for Organized Matter Chemistry.
Joining them will be Professor Masakazu Aono, Director General of the Nanomaterials Laboratories (NML) at the National Institute for Materials in Tsukuba, Japan; Professor Flemming Besenbacher, Director of the Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Center at the University of Aarhus, Denmark; Professor Sir Richard Friend FRS, Cavendish Professor of Physics at the University of Cambridge; Professor Ricardo García from the Instituto de Microelectrónica de Madrid (CSIC); Professor James Gimzewski FRS from UCLA Chemistry & Biochemistry Department; and Professor Paul Weiss, Director of the California NanoSystems Institute at UCLA who holds the Fred Kavli Chair in NanoSystems Sciences.
Source: University of Bristol