Posted: Sep 24, 2010

PULLNANO 32nm CMOS project demonstration at ICT 2010

(Nanowerk News) STMicroelectronics, the leader of the EU Sixth Framework Program PULLNANO Advanced Technology Research and development project, today announced that PULLNANO has been selected and invited to be demonstrated at ICT 2010, an event organized by the European Commission and hosted by the Belgian Presidency of the European Union, to be held on September 27-29, 2010 in Brussels.
Successfully concluded at the end of 2008, the PULLNANO FP6 project focused on the early development of the 32nm generation of CMOS technology, enabling European chip manufacturers to maintain their strong contribution to the worldwide microelectronics industry.
The PULLNANO project achieved its four main goals and has paved the way for new challenging system-on-chip designs and market introductions. Project partners sent 171 deliverables, published 217 papers in scientific journals, filed six new patent applications, and gave 353 presentations at international conferences.
At ICT 2010, on booth number '3096', PULLNANO will demonstrate concrete applications enabled by the most advanced CMOS technology nodes.
One example, in Home Entertainment and Displays, STMicroelectronics will demonstrate the potential and capabilities of its STi7108 for end-user applications. The STi7108 is the first in ST's third generation of high-definition chips implementing unprecedented CPU performance to provide end users with an exciting 3D HDTV experience. It also delivers market-leading energy efficiency, using its low-power, configurable architecture and ST's low-power manufacturing process. The 45nm CMOS technology for the STi7108 is derived from the EU Sixth Framework Program (FP6) NANOCMOS project, which carried out initial screening and demonstration of appropriate materials, device and interconnect architectures, and provided inputs both for the PULLNANO and the Eureka/MEDEA+ FOREMOST projects (finalist of the 2010 Eureka Innovation Award).
"It is important that the European chip industry maintains its own complete semiconductor ecosystem," said Dr. Gilles Thomas, STMicroelectronics PULLNANO Coordinator. "This recognition at ICT demonstrates that the collective effort of Europe's leading chip manufacturers, equipment and material suppliers, and industry-oriented research institutions and universities, can partner to develop advanced knowledge that will keep the European chip industry as a leading presence in the worldwide microelectronics landscape."
Advanced research of PULLNANO is continuing into a final development phase (project UTTERMOST) within the EUREKA/CATRENE cluster.
List of the 38 PULLNANO consortium participants
STMicroelectronics SA (France, Project Coordinator), STMicroelectronics (Crolles2) SAS (France), NXP Semiconductors Crolles R&D (France), Freescale Semiconducteurs Centre de Recherche Crolles SAS (France), NXP Semiconductors Belgium NV (Belgium), Philips Electronics Nederland B.V. (Nederland), Infineon Technologies AG (Germany), Qimonda Dresden (Germany), STMicroelectronics S.r.l. (Italy) later on Numonyx (Italy), Interuniversitair Micro-Elektronica Centrum vzw (Belgium), Commissariat a l'Energie Atomique (LETI) (France), Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft zur Foerderung der angewandten Forschung e.V. (Germany), Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (France), Technische Universitaet Chemnitz (Germany), University of Newcastle upon Tyne (United Kingdom), Universite de Savoie (France), Technische Universitaet Wien ? Institut fuer Mikroelektronik (Austria), Universite Catholique de Louvain (Belgium), Consorzio Nazionale Interuniversitario per la Nanoelettronica (IU.NET)(Italy), Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) (Switzerland), University of Glasgow (United Kingdom), Warsaw University of Technology (Poland), Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden), AMO GmbH (Gesellschaft fur angewandte Mikro- und Optoelektronik) (Germany), Forschungszentrum Juelich GmbH (Germany), The University of Liverpool (United Kingdom), National Technical University of Athens (Greece), University College Cork), National University of Ireland (Ireland), University of Warwick (United Kingdom), European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France), The University of Surrey (United Kingdom), Ion Beam Services (France), Integrated Systems Development S.A. (Greece), Magwel NV (Belgium), Acies (France), Cameca (France), Nova (Israel), and Imagine optics (France)
Source: STMicroelectronics