Pittcon 2011 honors scientists for outstanding contributions

(Nanowerk News) The Pittcon 2011 Program Committee is pleased to announce the recipients of 10 prestigious awards honoring scientists who have made outstanding contributions to analytical chemistry and applied spectroscopy.
The awards, presented during a symposium at Pittcon 2011, March 13-18, Georgia World Congress Center (GWCC), Atlanta, Georgia, will recognize scientists from diverse disciplines including bioanalytical science, biomedical, chromatography, electrochemistry, mass spectrometry, nanotechnology, separations science, and vibrational spectroscopy.
The Pittcon Heritage Award recognizes outstanding individuals whose entrepreneurial careers have shaped the instrumentation community, inspired achievement, promoted public understanding of the modern instrumentation sciences and highlighted the role of analytical chemistry in world economies. This year's award will be presented to the original founders of Thermo Electron, George Hatsopoulos, John Hatsopoulos, and Arvin Smith during Opening Session of Pittcon 2011, which begins at 4:30 p.m. on Sunday, March 13 in the Sidney Marcus Auditorium, GWCC.
Other awards and recipients are as follow:
  • Pittsburgh Analytical Chemistry Award, Raoul Kopelman, Richard Smalley Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry, Physics, Biophysics, Biomedical Engineering, and Applied Physics, University of Michigan
  • Ralph N Adams Award, James W. Jorgenson, William Rand Kenan, Jr., Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Charles N Reilley and Young Investigator Awards – SEAC, Richard Van Duyne, Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry, Northwestern University
  • ACS Subdivision of Chromatography and Separation Chemistry Young Investigator Award, Philip Britz-McKibbin, Associate Professor of Bio-analytical and Chemical Biology, McMaster University
  • Chromatography Forum of the Delaware Valley Dal Nogare Award, Janusz Pawliszyn University Professor, Department of Chemistry at the University of Waterloo, Ontario
  • Pittsburgh Conference Achievement Award, Lingjun Li, Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Chemistry,University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Pittsburgh Spectroscopy Award, Adriaan Bax, NIH Distinguished Investigator, National Institutes of Health
  • Williams-Wright Award, Howard Mark, Mark Electronics
  • Bomem-Michelson Award, Isao Noda, Scientist, Proctor and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, Ohio
  • About Pittcon
    Pittcon® is a registered trademark of The Pittsburgh Conference on Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy, a Pennsylvania non-profit organization. Co-sponsored by the Spectroscopy Society of Pittsburgh and the Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh, Pittcon is the premier annual conference and exposition on laboratory science. Proceeds from Pittcon fund science education and outreach at all levels, kindergarten through adult. Pittcon donates nearly a million dollars each year in the form of science equipment grants, research grants, scholarships and internships for students, awards to teachers and professors, and grants to public science centers, libraries and museums. Visit pittcon.org for more information.
    Source: Pittcon