2011 Nicholas Kurti European Science Prize winner

(Nanowerk News) Prof. Mathias Kläui from the SwissFEL, Paul Scherrer Institut and the Laboratory of Nanomagnetism and Spin Dynamics, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne is the 2011 recipient of the Nicholas Kurti European Science Prize.
During his time at IBM Zurich Research Laboratory, the University of Konstanz and current institution Prof. Kläui has focused on the fundamentally novel magnetic and electronic transport properties emerging when lateral structure dimensions become smaller than characteristic length scales (such as spin diffusion and magnetic exchange length, etc). He has been one of the key players working on the interaction between spin currents and confined magnetic spin structures, such as domain walls and has shown that magnetization can be efficiently manipulated by injecting spin currents. He combined lab-based techniques, such as magneto-transport using cryosystems with synchrotron-based microscopy to reveal the underlying mechanisms that govern the static and dynamic behaviour of magnetism at the nanoscale.
Professor George Pickett of Lancaster University, chairman of the committee of senior scientists who assess the nominations, commented: "The committee was very impressed by the work of Mathias Kläui in studies of the transport and magnetic behaviour of materials at the nanoscale. We are very happy to award him this year's prize and wish him all success in his future career."
The Nicholas Kurti European Science Prize, sponsored by Oxford Instruments, is intended to recognise and promote outstanding achievements of young scientists in the field of physical sciences research and to support their career development. It is named after Professor Nicholas Kurti known for his distinguished work in ultra-low temperature physics at the Clarendon Laboratory, Oxford University. The prize winner receives a €8000 cash prize, a unique trophy and certificate. The winner also has the opportunity to present his work at a conference of his choice.
Previous winners of the prize include Prof. Lieven Vandersypen, Dr. Silvano De Franceschi, Dr. Andreas Wallraff, Dr. Kostantin Novoselov, Dr. John Morton and Dr Christian Rüegg.
Source: Oxford Instruments