Posted: March 6, 2008

Johns Hopkins NanoBio Symposium Set for May 1-2. New workshop focuses on nanotechnology for cancer

(Nanowerk News) The Johns Hopkins Institute for NanoBioTechnology hosts its second annual NanoBio Symposium on May 1 -2, 2008 at the School of Medicine in Baltimore, Md. Attendance is free for JHU-affiliated faculty, staff, students and postdoctoral fellows, but online registration is required.
Nanotechnology for Cancer will be the focus of Thursday s workshop, held in the Owens Auditorium of the Kimmel Cancer Center from 2-5 p.m. The Friday symposium in the Turner Auditorium from 9 a.m.-12:30 p.m., features talks from leading experts in various aspects of nanobiotechnology. A poster session will showcase research from across Johns Hopkins University, government, and industry will displayed throughout Turner Concourse between 2-4:30 p.m.
Invited speakers include:

Donald E. Ingber, M.D., Ph.D., Judah Folkman Professor, Vascular Biology, Harvard Medical School

Andrew D. Maynard, Ph.D., Chief Science Advisor, Project on Emerging Nanotechnologies, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars

Paras N. Prasad, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor and Samuel P. Capen Chair of Chemistry, Director, Institute for Lasers, Photonics, and Biophotonics, SUNY-Buffalo

Jeffery A. Schloss, Ph.D., Co-chair, Trans-NIH NANO Task Force Program Director, Technology Development Coordination, National Human Genome Research Institute

Jennifer L. West, Ph.D., Isabel C. Cameron Professor of Bioengineering, Rice University

Registration and guidelines for poster submission are available at Deadline for poster submissions is April 17, 2008. Sponsorships opportunities also are available. For information, contact Mary Spiro, at [email protected] or 410-516-4802.
The Institute for NanoBioTechnology brings together internationally renowned expertise in medicine, engineering, the sciences and public health to create new knowledge and groundbreaking technologies. Programs in research, education, outreach and technology transfer are designed to foster the next wave of nanobiotechnology innovation. Faculty members affiliated with INBT are members of the Johns Hopkins Krieger School of Arts and Sciences, Whiting School of Engineering, School of Medicine, Bloomberg School of Public Health and Applied Physics Laboratory. For more information about INBT, go to
Source: Johns Hopkins University
Subscribe to a free copy of one of our daily
Nanowerk Newsletter Email Digests
with a compilation of all of the day's news.
These articles might interest you as well: