Posted: April 11, 2009

Johns Hopkins 'Nanoscience for Neuroscience and Neurosurgery' symposium

(Nanowerk News) Students and faculty are encouraged to submit posters for the Johns Hopkins Institute for NanoBioTechnology third annual symposium Monday, May 18, 2009 at the School of Medicine. “Nanoscience for Neuroscience and Neurosurgery” features Johns Hopkins faculty experts in nanobiotechnology, engineering, neuroscience, medicine, imaging, and public health. The poster submission deadline is May 4, 2009.
“Nanoscience for Neuroscience and Neurosurgery” begins with talks from 9 a.m. until noon in Mountcastle Auditorium of the PreClinical Teaching Building, 725 N. Wolfe St., Baltimore, Md. An afternoon poster session will be held from 1:30 to 3:30 p.m. in Turner Concourse of the Turner Building, 720 Rutland Ave., Baltimore, Md. Nanobiotechnology related research from across every division of the university and medical campus will be on display and presenters will be available to discuss their results.
More information about the symposium, including poster submission guidelines, directions to the medical campus, and further information about the speakers is available at the Johns Hopkins Institute for NanoBioTechnology symposium website. Go to . General registration without a poster is due by May 15, 2009. Corporate sponsorship opportunities are available. Please visit INBT’s website for more information.
Speakers from the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine include Ted Dawson, Abramson Professor of Neurodegenerative Diseases; John W. Griffin, Johns Hopkins University Distinguished Service Professor of Neurology, Neuroscience and Pathology and director of the Brain Science Institute; Michael T. McMahon, assistant professor of Radiology, MR Division; Alessandro Olivi, professor of Neurosurgery and Oncology and chair of Neurosurgery at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center; and Jeffrey Rothstein, professor of Neurology and director of the Robert Packard Center for ALS Research.
From the Johns Hopkins Whiting School of Engineering, featured speakers will be Sharon Gerecht, assistant professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and Hai-Quan Mao, assistant professor of Materials Science and Engineering. Tomas Guilarte, Professor of Environmental Health Sciences, will be the featured speaker from the Bloomberg School of Public Health.
Source: Johns Hopkins University
Subscribe to a free copy of one of our daily
Nanowerk Newsletter Email Digests
with a compilation of all of the day's news.
These articles might interest you as well: