Posted: December 13, 2008

Bangalore Nano National Award goes to Prof. Dipankar Chakravorty

(Nanowerk News) Today, during the 2nd Bangalore Nano 2008 event, Shri. M. Hamid Ansari, H.E. Vice President of India, presented the 2nd Bangalore Nano National Award to Prof. Dipankar Chakravorty, recognizing his awe-inspiring achievements in the field of Nanotechnology.
Also present were Shri. Rameshwar Thakur, H.E. Governor of Karnataka, Dr. V.S. Acharya, Honourable Home Minister, Government of Karnataka and Prof. C.N.R. Rao, Chairman, Science Advisory Council to the Prime Minister, Government of India. The 1st Bangalore Nano National Award was conferred to Prof. C.N.R. Rao in 2007.  
Prof. Dipankar Chakravorty is the Emeritus Professor & Indian National Science Academy Honorary Scientist, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata. He is a fellow of various academies in India and abroad. He has 271 publications on his name in refereed journals. Last year, he won the DST National Research Award in Nano Science and Technology.
The 2nd Bangalore Nano 2008 features a Poster Session, where-in young Scientists and Researchers are given the opportunity to share their Innovations and Research in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology with the Industry, Research Institutes and Venture Capitalists. About 75 posters from IITs, NITs, Michigan Technological University, CSIR, NCBS, IISc, JNCASR, AIIMS, etc. are presented during the event.
Prof. C.N.R. Rao, conducted a special session “Nano for the Young”, which was attended by over three hundred plus students, professors and young scientists from leading colleges like, Mount Carmel, JNC, Acharya P S, MVJ Medical, Dayanand Sagar, GKVK to name a few. A Two CD multimedia presentation on Nanotechnology called “NanoWorld” was also released and distributed to all the participants.
Source: Bangalore Nano
Subscribe to a free copy of one of our daily
Nanowerk Newsletter Email Digests
with a compilation of all of the day's news.
These articles might interest you as well: