3rd Bangalore Nano to showcase exciting state-of-the-art nanotechnology during 8th and 9th December 2010

(Nanowerk News) The Department of IT, BT and S&T, Government of Karnataka under the guidance of Vision Group on Nanotechnology led by Prof. C.N.R. Rao, FRS, Honorary President, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR) today briefed the media on the run-up to the 3rd edition of Bangalore Nano scheduled during 8th and 9th of December 2010 at The Lalit Ashok, Bangalore with the focal theme "Frontiers of Nanotechnology: Impact on India."
Bangalore Nano 2010 will be two full days of presentations and powerful discussions as well as interactive networking activities - a meeting place for the global Scientists, Industry, Academia & Government, attended by over 400 delegates and 30 exhibitors from across the globe with strong participation of over 200 organisations from 12 countries like Germany, USA, UK, Japan, Singapore, Switzerland, Poland with Germany being the Country Partner. Leading Sponsors include German Government; Reliance Industries; Indian Oil Corporation, Lab India; Nano Professor, KITVEN and Advance Tech.
The Conference will be addressed by over 45 internationally acclaimed speakers and experts on Business Opportunities in Nanotechnology, Energy & Environment, Nano Medicine, Nano Electronics, and Nano Materials; few leading speakers include Dr. M.K. Bhan, Secretary, Department of Biotechnology, Govt. of India; Prof. Sir Richard Friend, FRS, FREng, Cavendish Professor, University of Cambridge, UK; Prof. Yoshio Bando, Fellow, National Institute for Materials Science (NIMS), Japan; Dr. Anthony K. Cheetham, FRS, Goldsmiths' Professor of Materials Science, University of Cambridge, UK. Dr. W. Selvamurthy, Chief Controller - R&D, DRDO; Mr. Stefan Bill, Managing Director, Rewitec GmbH, Germany.
With an objective of bridging students with Scientists, special programmes "Nano for the Young" and "Inspirational Lectures Programme" are planned for the students.
Every year more than 500 students from across Bangalore listen to the special address by Prof. C.N.R. Rao along with other leading experts during "Nano for the Young" framed for children. The Panel of experts would share with students the key aspects of Nanotechnology and the excitement that lies in Nano Research.
Inspirational Lectures Programme planned at JN Tata Auditorium is expected to have a gathering of about 750 bright Students from across Karnataka pursuing Graduate and Post Graduate Courses, Faculty from leading Universities and Nanotech Research Institutes from across Karnataka. The Programme will be addressed by internationally acclaimed Speakers.
Introduced for the first ever time in the Bangalore Nano event, InterlinX - The Partnering Tool will facilitate meetings between Indian & International Companies to explore business tie-ups & research collaborations.
This year's event will feature Research Industry Collaboration Hub (RICH) wherein 8 Startup Companies will be pitching for investments or research collaborations from the VC Community / Research Institutions. RICH will also facilitate podium presentations and one-to-one meetings for emerging entrepreneurs in Nanotechnology.
Poster Session - Walkway of Discovery will offer a unique opportunity for about 75 Young Scientists and Researchers selected out of 150 entrees, representing best of the Institutions like IISc, JNCASR, IITs, NCBS and international Universities like Jackson State University, USA; Hunter College, USA; Dublin City University, Ireland; University of Idaho, USA to share their Innovations and Research with Industry, Research Institutes and Venture Capitalists. 3 best posters will be awarded.
The event will see participation of Chief Scientific Officers, Policy Makers, VPs, Directors, Heads of organisations, Scientists, Chemists, Research Leaders/ Fellows/ Advisors from Industry, Government and Research Institutions.
Bangalore Nano National Award would be presented during the event to a distinguished personality for achievements in the field of Nanotechnology. A special jury under the Chairmanship of Prof. C.N.R. Rao would select the awardee. The previous recipients of the award are Prof. C.N.R. Rao in 2007 and Prof. Dipankar Chakravorty in 2008. Another award is being instituted from this year "Emerging Entrepreneur", to one who ventures into innovative and pioneering initiatives in the nanotech field.
Leading participating Indian organisations include Applied Materials, Avantel Limited, GE India, Hindustan Unilever, HLL Lifecare Limited, HSBC, Indian Oil, L&T, Labindia, Lockheed Martin, Merck Specialties, Piramal Lifesciences, Ranbaxy, Shell India, Tata Chemicals, Amrita Centre for Nanoscience, ARCI, ARDE, Armament Research & Development Establishment, BHEL, Center for Artifical Intelligence & Robotics, Central Road Research Inst. Cimap, CSIR, DRDE, DRDO, ISRO, JNCASR, National Chemical Laboratory, NCBS, NEERI, TERI, TIFR and CLRI
Some of the international participating organizations include Leading CSM Instruments, Switzerland, Dublin City University, Ireland, Min of Education & Research, Germany, Ferdowsi University of Mashhad, Iran, Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe, Germany, Hunter College (CUNY), USA, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland, NIMS, Japan, Islamic Azad University, Iran, Jackson State University, USA, KAUST, Saudi Arabia, Lake Head University, Canada, Louisiana Tech University, USA, nano PROFESSOR, USA, NanoConsulting, Singapore, Partec GmbH, Germany, Rewitec GmbH, Germany, The State Univ. of New Jersey, USA, Silanotex GmbH, Germany, University of Cambridge, UK, VDI Technologiezentrum, Germany, Vistec Electron Beam, Germany, WITec, Germany, Zoz Group, Germany, Zygo Corporation, USA
Source: Bangalore Nano