Posted: December 17, 2009

Early bird registration and abstract submissions open for Nanotoxicology 2010

(Nanowerk News) The 3rd of the Nanotoxicology conference series, Nanotoxicology 2010 is aimed at professionals and students in nanotechnology environment, health and safety (EHS) research. Taking place from June 2nd - 4th 2010 in Edinburgh Scotland, Nanotoxicology 2010 promises to form a key date in the calendar for 2010.
The conference is now open for abstract submissions (oral and poster presentations), and early bird registration. Nanotoxicology 2010 Early Bird registration provides a preferential rate for delegates, and will remain available until the 30th January 2010 after which full registration costs will be implemented.
The final deadline for registration is the 1st May 2010. The final deadline for Abstract Submissions is March 19th 2010. A limited number of Bursaries are available to student applicants to the conference from the Colt Foundation.
The Scientific Program for Nanotoxicology 2010 is divided into sections which allow focus on specific types of nanomaterials. Each section will include talks spanning disciplines including exposure assessment, characterisation, human toxicology, ecotoxicology and risk assessment. Such a format will promote interaction between different disciplines and would allow issues specific to certain materials to be addressed. Click here to learn more about the conference’s themes and key topics
Nanotoxicology 2010 will bring together multidisciplinary expertise from across the field, and has already confirmed keynote speakers from institutions working at the cutting-edge of the field, including:

Günter Oberdörster - University of Rochester

Ken Donaldson – University of Edinburgh

Kevin Dreher – US EPA

Stig Irving Olsen – Technical University of Denmark

Martin Philbert – University of Michigan

Andrew Maynard – Project on Emerging Nanotechnologies

About Nanotoxicology 2010
The Local organising committee for Nanotoxicology 2010 includes assembled scientists from Edinburgh Napier University, the Institute of Occupational Medicine and Edinburgh University. The conference chair for 2010 is Professor Vicki Stone, Edinburgh Napier University. For further information on the conference’s organising committee, click here.
The SAFENANO initiative is one of the UK Technology Strategy Board’s Micro and Nanotechnology Network’s Nanotechnology Centres of Excellence. Phase 1 of this initiative was officially launched in August 2007.
SAFENANO Scientific Services represents the latest stage in IOM and SAFENANO’s nanotechnology programme which aims to understand, quantify and control risks posed by nanomaterials to the workforce, consumers, the general population and the environment through research, consultancy and service work for industry and government.