Cees Dekker receives the 2012 ISNCE Nanoscience Prize

(Nanowerk News) On Wednesday 18 April, Prof. Cees Dekker (Delft University of Technology) received the ISNSCE Nanoscience Price 2012. The yearly price is awarded by the International Society of Nanoscale Science, Engineering, and Computation. Dekker receives the award 'in recognition of outstanding discoveries and contributions to the field of (biomolecular) nanoscale science and nanotechnology'.
Previous prize winners of the ISNSCE NanoScience Price in the past are well-known scientist in the field, such as George Whitesides, Paul Alivisatos, James Fraser Stoddart and Nadrian Seeman. Whitesides, who also received the prestigious National Medal of Science, is a pioneer in microfluidics and known for his insights in how molecules order on a surface. The other previous winners did breakthrough science in DNA nanotechnology and the synthesis of nanostructures. Dekker is the first physicist to receive the award. Dekker: "the previous winners form a fantastic line-up of pioneers in nanoscience. I regard it a great honor to receive this award."
The award was presented to Dekker at the Foundations of Nanoscience Conference in Snowbird, close to Salt Lake City, where Dekker delivered a keynote lecture.
Source: Delft University of Technology
Subscribe to a free copy of one of our daily
Nanowerk Newsletter Email Digests
with a compilation of all of the day's news.