Posted: February 5, 2008

Nanotechnology masters courses directory and recognition scheme

(Nanowerk News) A new approach to skills development and training is needed for the multidisciplinary field of nanoscience and nanotechnology, and many universities are now offering masters courses in nanotechnology, each with a different emphasis.
The Institute of Nanotechnology, in collaboration with a consortium of course-providing academics and industry representatives, is engaged in enhancing, supporting and benchmarking the quality of education at the masters’ level in nanotechnology. The process is being driven by the education sub-group of the Institute of Nanotechnology. The education sub-group is chaired by Dr. David Carey from Surrey University and deputy chair is Dr. Steve Dunn from Cranfield University.
Nanotechnology Masters Courses each vary in their emphasis and content, and the NanoMasters Course Website provides a means for prospective students to search for details of Nano Masters Courses of specific interest to them.
This Directory wll also enable representatives from industry to assess which Nano Masters courses address the skills and disciplines relevant to their company and its products.
The interface of the scheme is manifested as a web searchable directory of nanotechnology courses. The website –
  • allows an online comparison of course content
  • enables students to chose programs based on their knowledge and aspirations
  • enables partial assessment of post-graduate competencies for recruitment in industry
  • provides international outreach to education and training in this field
  • Universities participating in the scheme include –
  • Belgium: KU Leuven, University of Antwerp
  • France: Université Joseph Fourier – Grenoble, Université de technologie de Troyes
  • Germany: Technische Universitat Dresden, University of Kaiserslautern
  • Italy: University of Padova, University Ca Foscari of Venezia, University of Verona
  • Netherlands: University of Twente, TU Delft, University of Leiden
  • Spain: University of Barcelona, Universitat Rovira I Virgili, Universitat Politénica de Catalunya, Universitat de Girona
  • Sweden: Chalmers University of Technology
  • UK: Surrey University, Lancaster University, University of Sheffield, Leeds University, Cranfield University, University of Liverpool, University of Wales Swansea, Heriot-Watt University
  • For further information, visit:
    Source: Institute of Nanotechnology
    Subscribe to a free copy of one of our daily
    Nanowerk Newsletter Email Digests
    with a compilation of all of the day's news.
    These articles might interest you as well: